E.C (3)-29.03.2019

MINUTES OF THE EMERGENT MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL HELD ON FRIDAY, THE 29th MARCH, 2019 at 10.00 A.M. IN THE COUNCIL ROOM, UNIVERSITY OF DELHI DELHI-110007

No. 3

PRESENT

| 1. | Prof. Yogesh Kumar Tyagi | Vice-Chancellor - Chairman |
|----|--------------------------|---|
| 2. | Prof. J.P. Khurana | Director, South Campus |
| 3. | Prof. C.S. Dubey | Officiating Director, Campus of Open Learning |
| 4. | Sh. T. S. Kripanidhi | Treasurer |
| 5. | Prof. Neeta Sehgal | Officiating Proctor |
| 6. | Prof. Inderjit Singh | |

Dr. Anula Maurya
Dr. InderJeet

7.

11. Dr. I. S. Bakshi

Prof. Mohan

Prof. Namita Ranganathan

- 12. Dr. V.S. Negi
- 13. Dr. Rajesh Kumar Jha
- 14. Dr. J. L. Gupta
- 15. Sh. Rajesh Gogna
- 16. Dr. Sanjay Paswan

SPECIAL INVITEES

- 1. Prof. Pami Dua
- 2. Dr. Payal Mago

Prof. Tarun Kumar Das - Registrar - Secretary

EC(1) dated 01-02.07.2019 Appendix-III Resolution No. 5

E.C (3)-29.03.2019

17/ WELCOME

STATUTE 5(1)(xii)

Visitor Nominee

1. Dr. Sanjay Paswan

- Former Minister of State, Human Resource Development

2. Prof. Rama Jayasundar

Department of NMR, AIIMS, New Delhi

At the outset, the Registrar read out the following welcome note for Dr. Sanjay Paswan and Prof. Rama Jayasundar as Visitor's Nominees on the Executive Council of the University of Delhi:

"It is indeed an honour to inform the Council that the Hon'ble President of India, in his capacity as the Visitor of the University of Delhi in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Statute 5(1)(xii) of the Statutes of the University is pleased to appoint Dr. Sanjay Paswan and Prof. Rama Jayasundar as Visitor's Nominees on the Executive Council of the University, as communicated vide letter dated 9th March, 2019 of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India. Dr. Sanjay Paswan and Prof. Rama Jayasundar have become the member of the Executive Council of the university on 09.03.2019.

Dr. Sanjay Paswan was educated from Ranchi University and Patna University.

Dr. Sanjay Paswan is an educationist and was elected to 13th Lok Sabha. He also held positions of Union Minister of State, Ministry of Communications & Information Technology, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment and Ministry of Human Resource Development.

Prof. Rama Jayasundar has been on the faculty of All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) since 1993. She acquired her PhD in NMR (Physics) from Cambridge University, UK, in 1990. She also pursued BAMS (Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery) degree from Chennai. She has wide experience in both experimental and clinical MRI and spectroscopy.

The Council welcomed Dr. Sanjay Paswan and Prof. Rama Jayasundar on their becoming members of the Executive Council:

18/- APPRECIATION

STATUTE 5(1)(xii)

Visitor Nominee

Sh. Ram Bahadur Rai

The Council deeply appreciated the contribution of Shri Ram Bahadur Rai, a veteran Hindi Journalist and Padamshree awardee who served as Visitor's Nominee on the Executive Council. He helped the University in strengthening its various academic activities and also played significant role in the establishment of Delhi School of Journalism.

- **19/-** The Executive Council considered and approved Un-audited Annual Accounts of the University for the financial year 2017-18 duly recommended by the Finance Committee at its meeting held on 07.12.2018 (Item No. 4). (**Appendix-I**)
- **20/-** The Executive Council considered and approved Revised Budget Estimates for 2018-19 and Budget Estimates for 2019-2020, of the University duly recommended by the Finance Committee at its meeting held 07.03.2019 (Item No. 3). (**Appendix-II**)

EC/Minutes/099/2018-19/Resolution No.(17-22)

Page 2 of 3

EC(1) dated 01-02.07.2019 Appendix-III Resolution No. 5

E.C (3)-29.03.2019

- 21/- The Executive Council considered and approved the provisions of University Grants Commission letter no. F.No. 11-4/2017 (CU) dated 19.06.2018 enclosing therewith Ministry of Human Resource Development, Department of Higher Education letter no. F.No.1-1/2017-U.II dated 11.06.2018 on the subject "Revision of pension of retired faculty and other staff in Central Universities and colleges thereunder and Deemed to be Universities whose maintenance expenditure is met by the University Grants Commission (UGC) regarding" duly recommended by the Finance Committee at its meeting held on 07.12.2018 (Item No. 5). (Appendix-III)
- 22/- Reported and recorded the University Grants Commission Letter F.No. 11-1/2017 (CU) dated 19.02.2019 on subject "Revision of allowances of teachers, equivalent academic staff, Registrars, Finance Officers and Controller of Examination in the Universities and colleges as per recommendations of 7th CPC regarding", which was reported in the Finance Committee at its meeting held on 07.03.2019 (Item No. 8). (Appendix-IV)

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Sd/- Sd/-

(Prof. Tarun Kumar Das)

Registrar – Secretary Vice-Chancellor – Chairman

(Prof. Yogesh Kumar Tyagi)